Learn more about our unique Education Programs
We can design a special tour or program for your class or group
The Bedford Museum at the 1787 Bedford Court House
On the Village Green, 615 Old Post Road, Bedford, NY
Open May thru August from noon to 4 PM and by appointment. Call us at (914) 234-9751 for more information.
The 1787 Bedford Court House was restored to its original dignity in 1970 and is used today as a site museum. Lectures and meetings of local organizations are also held here, much as they were when the Court House was originally built. The Courtroom also provides the setting for mock trials as part of the Bedford Historical Society’s education tours offered to local schools. Click here to read a short history of the Bedford Museum.
A small gift shop offers Bedford Historical Society publications and Bedford memorabilia.
First Floor Exhibits
Restored 18th century Court Room where cases were heard from 1788 until 1868. Visitors can stand in the same room where county court justices like William Jay, son of John Jay, first chief justice of the United States, heard cases presented by young attorneys like Aaron Burr, later Vice President under Thomas Jefferson. Visitors can also view a collection of historic portraits on the ground floor.
Second Floor Exhibit
Bedford Museum – a museum of local history tracing Bedford’s past through artifacts of commerce, farming, family life and community. Exhibit featuring childhood in Bedford. Seen here an old wooden pull toy, a game of HALMA, 10 pins, doll and tea set. Rotating exhibits of period costumes and fragile textiles. The Kitchen Room displays objects and tools of family life including an open hearth, a spinning wheel, cradle and foot warmer.
One of two original jail cells located on the second floor of the Court House. This is the oldest jail cell in Westchester County and measures approximately 105 square feet. The jail cell was featured in The Westchester Historian’s Spring 2006 issue and on the correctionhistory.org website.
The 1787 Court House is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It is owned by the Town of Bedford and maintained by the Bedford Historical Society.